The Custom House is one of the most stunning neoclassical buildings on the north bank of the Liffey and is a telling example of Irish history.
Originally designed by James Gandon in 1781, it was burnt down during the War of Independence in 1921 by the Irish Republican Army in an attempt to disrupt British rule in Ireland. It was later restored by the Irish Free State Government. Today the Custom House is home to an Irish Government Department.
Not open to the public.
By Bus: Take bus numbers 33d, 33x or 151
By Luas (tram): Take the Luas Red Line to Busaras
By Dart (rail): Take the Dart to Connolly