Founded in 1142 by St. Malachy of Armagh, the abbey sits on the banks of the River Mattock, approximately 10km northwest of Drogheda.
Little of the original Abbey now remains, although visitors can see one of its most unusual features - an octagonal lavabo circa 1200. This lavabo was used by the monks to wash their hands before eating.
The visitor centre houses an interesting exhibition on the work of masons in the Middle Ages with fine examples of their craft on display. Please note that access to the site is by stone stairway.
Open: Open June to August. See website for opening times.
Admission: Admission fees apply.