This iconic bridge straddling the River Liffey was built in 1816 in Shropshire, England and originally named the Wellington Bridge after the Duke of Wellington. Now, it is officially known as the Liffey Bridge but affectionately called the Ha’Penny Bridge by Dubliners.
This nickname was earned thanks to William Walsh, a ferryman who built the Bridge and charged a toll of one ha’penny to travellers. The practice of charging a fee lasted for over one hundred years.
The bridge has a 43 metre span, is 3 metres in width and rises an elegant 3 metres above the river. Today over 30,000 pedestrians use the bridge daily.
By Bus: Take bus numbers 25, 26, 37, 39, 51, 70, or 145
By Luas (tram): Take the Luas Red Line to Jervis
By Dart (rail): Take the Dart to Tara Street