The Fusiliers Arch is a monument dedicated to the officers and enlisted men of the four battalions of the Royal Dublin Fusiliers who gave their lives during the Boer War (1899-1902).
Erected in 1907, the Fusiliers Arch is one of the most enduring remnants of British colonialist rule in Dublin. It was slightly damaged by machine-gun fire during the Easter Rising 1916, the marks of which can still be seen today. Thought to be modelled on the Arch of Titus in Rome, the names of the 222 dead, as well as the main battles and locations in which the fusiliers fought, are inscribed on the underside of the ornate arch which guards the Grafton Street entrance to St. Stephen’s Green Park.
Open: Open year round.
Admission: Admission is free.
By Bus: Take bus numbers 9, 11, 16, 37, 38, 39, 44, 46A, 65 or 70
By Luas (tram): Take the Luas Green line to St. Stephen’s Green
By Dart (rail): Take the Dart to Pearse & Tara Station